Milford: 86 Cherry Street, Milford, Connecticut 06460
Bridgeport: 3354 Main St, Bridgeport, Connecticut 06606
Facebook Twitter Google Plus

Connecticut Marijuana Laws

The sale, possession and distribution of marijuana in Connecticut can lead to criminal charges. These charges can be a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the severity of the crime. Marijuana is regulated as a schedule I controlled substance in Connecticut, and the exception for this law is the possession and use of medical marijuana. A drug crime attorney can help you fight the charges.

Penalties for Possession of Marijuana in CT

For 1st Offense:
  • Possession of marijuana less than 1/2 oz, may lead to infraction and fine of up to $150.
  • Possession of marijuana of 1/2 oz to 4 oz, may lead to a misdemeanor, jail term of up to 1 year and fine of up to $1000.
  • Possession of marijuana of 4 oz or more, may lead to infraction and fine of up to $150.
For 2nd Offense:
  • Possession of marijuana under 1/2 oz, may lead to infraction and fine of up to $500.
  • Possession of marijuana of 1/2 oz to 4 oz, may lead to a felony, jail term of up to 5 years and fine of up to $3000.
  • Possession of marijuana of 4 oz or more, may lead to a felony, jail term of up to 10 years and fine of up to $5000.

Penalties for Sale, Cultivation and Distribution of Marijuana in CT

First Offense:
  • Marijuana distribution / sale / cultivation less than 1 Kilogram may lead to a felony and up to 7 years in prison with fines.
  • Marijuana distribution / sale / cultivation of 1 Kilogram or more may lead to a felony and mandatory imprisonment of 5 – 20 years with fines.
Second Offense:
  • Marijuana distribution / sale / cultivation less than 1 Kilogram may lead to felony and up to 7 years in prison with fines.
  • Marijuana distribution / sale / cultivation of 1 Kilogram or more may lead to felony and mandatory imprisonment of 10 – 25 years with fines.

Possession of marijuana within 1,500 feet of a school may lead to 2 years of imprisonment, and selling marijuana may lead to 3 years of imprisonment, in addition to the above mentioned penalties.

Contact Drug Crime Lawyers in Connecticut

Have you been accused of sale, possession and distribution of marijuana in Connecticut? Having an experienced drug crime lawyer on your side is imperative when you are facing a drug crime. To know more about marijuana laws in Connecticut, speak to drug crime attorney George W. Ganim Jr. Call (203) 445-6542 / (877) 828-4279 or email george@ganiminjurylawyers.com for a consultation.

We are proudly serving Connecticut’s Bridgeport, Milford, New Haven, Stamford, Danbury, Darien and Fairfield county areas.

This entry was posted in Article, Drug crime and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Contact Us Now!

av-preeminent-george-w-ganim-jr.jpg
AV Preeminent® (4.5-5.0) - AV Preeminent® is a significant rating accomplishment - a testament to the fact that a lawyer's peers rank him or her at the highest level of professional excellence.
Milford: 86 Cherry Street, Milford, Connecticut 06460
Bridgeport: 3354 Main St, Bridgeport, CT 06606
Tel: 203-713-8383 ,Bridgeport Tel: 475 298 1377 Fax: 203-713-8388, E-mail: george@attorneyganim.com